Call for Abstracts: Sound and Listening Spaces


Since what has popularly been called the spatial turn in the second half of the 20th century, space has been considered a social, political and cultural construct, as e.g. Henri Lefebvre points out in The Production of Space (1974). This shift in the notion of space has also affected the perception of artworks taking place in space. With sound studies and soundscape theories (e.g. Murray Schafer), the temporal artform of music has mutated into the spatial medium of sound. Whether we listen to the sounds of natural or urban environments, online playlists, audio books, curated sound art, muzac, or experience the tingling sensations of ASMR, we find ourselves as listeners positioned in an affective space filled with sound and at the same time created by sound – a social construct. These listening spaces are at the core of this issue of SoundEffects.

Read more about Call for Abstracts: Sound and Listening Spaces

SoundEffects is an open access, international, peer-reviewed journal on sound and sound experience operating on the Open Journal System. SoundEffects brings together a plurality of theories, methodologies, and historical approaches applicable to sound as both mediated and unmediated experience. The journal primarily addresses disciplines within media and communication studies, aesthetics, musicology, comparative literature, cultural studies, psychology and sociology. In order to push the boundary of interdisciplinary sound studies into new areas, we also encourage contributions from disciplines such as health care, architecture, and sound design. As an international journal taking a humanities-based interdisciplinary approach to sound, SoundEffects is responding to the increasing global interest in sound studies. One of the advantages of SoundEffects as opposed to paper journals is that we can offer authors the possibility to attach sound bites to their articles (please check the Author Guidelines).

The editors of SoundEffects: Iben Have, Birgitte Stougaard, Erik Granly Jensen, Thomas Bjørnsten and Vadim Keylin (editor of review section)

The journal is supported by the following International Advisory Board: Michael Bull (University of Sussex);  Annabel J. Cohen (University of Prince Edward Island); Steven Connor (Birkbeck College, London); Nicholas Cook, (University of Cambridge); Christoph Cox (Hampshire College); Lydia Goehr (Columbia University);  Antoine Hennion (Centre de Sociologie de l'Innovation, Paris); Kathleen Higgins (University of Texas, Austin); Douglas Kahn (University of New South Wales, Sydney); Phillip Tagg (Universities of Huddersfield and Salford).

ISSN: 1904-500X